FREE USPS Shipping on US Domestic orders of $50 or more.

The Duty of Self-Denial and Ten Other Sermons (Watson)

(You save $4.00 )
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Soli Deo Gloria Publications


One may go to heaven without earthly comforts, but will not go without self-denial.

We have a natural tendency to fight for our rights and to exert our own will. We have been taught to look out for number one. Yet Jesus clearly said that the first step in following Him is to deny ourselves (Luke 9:23). In this classic treatise, Thomas Watson reminds Christians of their sacred duty of self-denial by explaining what it is and demonstrating how its every act asserts the supremacy of Jesus Christ. This volume also contains ten additional messages by Watson, further challenging readers to forsake all in order to gain all in Christ.

Read Sample Pages

Table of Contents:

  1. The Duty of Self-Denial
  2. The Comforting Rod
  3. The Peace of Christ
  4. Kiss the Son
  5. Till My Change Comes
  6. His Heart Is Fixed
  7. Light in Darkness
  8. The Good Shepherd
  9. How Must We Make Religion Our Business?
  10. The Day of Judgment Asserted
  11. How God Is His People’s Great Reward


“Watson was one of the most concise, racy, illustrative, and suggestive of those eminent divines who made the Puritan age the Augustan period of evangelical literature. There is a happy union of sound doctrine, heart-searching experience, and practical wisdom throughout all his works.” — Charles H. Spurgeon.


Thomas Watson (ca. 1620–1686) graduated from Cambridge University and became one of the leading Puritan minsters of London.