FREE USPS Shipping on US Domestic orders of $50 or more.

The Suffering Saviour: A Series of Devotional Meditations (Krummacher)

(You save $7.00 )
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Banner Of Truth Trust
Sample Pages

Out of stock

Out of Stock


This series of devotional meditations on the final scenes in the life of Christ on earth has been prized by successive generations of Christians ever since its original publication in 1854. Translated almost immediately into English and frequently republished, the book has been described as the greatest single volume of the entire nineteenth century on the last days of Christ’s earthly ministry.

Krummacher organizes his meditations around the structure of the Old Testament tabernacle. The first section, The Outer Court, covers the time from Jesus’ announcement of His approaching death to His discourses on the way to Gethsemane. The central section, the longest, is entitled The Holy Place. It deals with Gethsemane, Judas’ betrayal, Peter’s denial, all the judicial proceedings, Christ’s scourging, and the journey to Calvary. The final section, The Most Holy Place, covers the crucifixion itself, Christ’s sayings from the cross, His agony and death, and His burial.

This is a book to which all Christians, and especially preachers, will want to return frequently, to have their hearts warmed afresh, and their love to, and zeal for, their Saviour rekindled.

Table of Contents:

Part One: The Outer Court

Part Two: The Holy Place

Part Three: The Most Holy Place


Friedrich Wilhelm Krummacher (1796-1868) was perhaps the greatest preacher on the continent of Europe in the middle years of the nineteenth century. He was the minister to several churches in Germany during the 1800s.