FREE USPS Shipping on US Domestic orders of $50 or more.

The Life and Times of Jesus the Messiah

(You save $14.95 )
Hendrickson Publishers

One of the best known and most important references on the life of Christ ever written, Alfred Edersheim's The Life and Times of Jesus the Messiah is a storehouse of information on the background of the New Testament. This classic work successfully portrays the streets, the marketplaces, the religious conflicts, the people, and the places of Jesus' earthly ministry.

Edersheim divides his work into five sections, or books:

• Book 1—The Preparation for the GospelIntroductory historical, religious, political, and cultural material based on the author's extensive knowledge of Jewish lore and customs.

• Book 2—From Bethlehem to JordanThe background of Herod and his reign, St. John the Baptist and his message, and the birth and baptism of Jesus.

• Book 3—From Jordan to the Mount of TransfigurationThirty-seven chapters explore the miracles and teachings of Jesus' early ministry.

• Book 4—The Descent into the Valley of HumiliationA history of the latter part of Jesus' ministry from the Transfiguration to the journey to Jerusalem.

• Book 5—The Cross and the CrownA chronicle of each day of Passion Week, from Palm Sunday to the Resurrection.

• AppendicesValuable background material on Jewish history, tradition, and law.



Alfred Edersheim (1825–89) was a Vienna-born biblical scholar who converted from Judaism to Christianity. A veteran minister and missionary to the Jews of Romania, Edersheim left an enduring and priceless legacy to followers of Christ. Among his most widely read works are The Life and Times of Jesus the Messiah, The Temple: Its Ministry and Services, and Bible History Old Testament.